The Banking Industry Architecture Network (BIAN), an independent not-for-profit association, has completed the development of a globally standardised IT architecture design for banks.

BIAN has finalised its banking technology framework, called Service Landscape 4.0, following seven years of collaborative work between international banks, vendors, service providers and academic institutions.

BIAN’s Service Landscape, designed by members including SAP, Microsoft, IBM, UBS, PNC and ABN-AMRO, defines the standard business capabilities that make up a bank, grouped into Service Domains.

The new model moves away from the traditional approach to core banking, which relies on distinguishing between capabilities such as consumer, corporate and capital market products, and promotes an integrated approach to managing banking processes.

BIAN executive director Hans Tesselaar said: "BIAN members have worked tirelessly to develop this global banking IT standard that will support banks to overcome legacy IT issues and drastically cut the cost of technology integration.

"By implementing this on an industry and world-wide scale, banks will be able to develop and on-board innovative technology offerings without battling through aging or tangled enterprise architecture and at lower integration costs."

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.