A total of four new foreign banks have received preliminary approval from the Central Bank of Myanmar to set up 100%-owned branches in Myanmar.

The four banks that have secured the approval include Vietnamese lender Bank for Investment and Development, Taiwan’s E.SUN Commercial Bank, South Korea’s Shinhan Bank and the State Bank of India.

"The preliminary approval is valid for 12 months during which the successful Applicants will have to fulfil commitments made in their answer to the RFP (Application), take all necessary measures to ensure functional banking operation from day one of business and will have to comply with requirements laid down by the Central bank of Myanmar," the central bank said in a statement.

With the new move, a total of 13 foreign banks have been granted to operate in Myanmar.

In April 2015, Japanese lender Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (BTMU) became the first foreign bank to open a branch in the country.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.